HRI takes home top award at annual scientific meeting

Awards and Achievements
Dr Siân Cartland from HRI's Vascular Complications Group has been awarded the AVBS Young Investigator/Early Career Researcher (YI/ECR) Best Oral Presentation at the Joint Annual Scientific Meeting in Hobart. 

The Annual Scientific Meeting of the Australian Vascular Biology Society (AVBS) was held as a joint meeting with the Australian Atherosclerosis Society (AAS) and High Blood Pressure Research Council of Australia (HBPRCA) from 7-10 December.

Sixteen HRI researchers were selected for oral and poster presentations based on abstracts submitted to the AVBS, AAS and HBPRCA.

Convened by Dr Mary Kavurma from HRI's Vascular Complications Group, the meeting brought together researchers from across the country to share ideas.

Congratulations to all HRI Researchers who were invited to speak and selected to present:

AVBS Invited Speakers

Dr Christina Bursill, Immunobiology Group Leader

Vegfr2 is activated by high-density lipoproteins (HDL) and plays a key role in the proangiogenic effects of HDL in ischaemia

Dr Anna Waterhouse, Cardiovascular Materials Group Leader

Material surface modification and medical device thrombosis

YI/ECR Oral Finalists

Dr Siân Cartland, Vascular Complications Group WINNER

Non-alcoholic fatty liver disease, vascular inflammation and insulin resistance are exacerbated by TRAIL deletion in mice

Dr Roxane Darbousset, Thrombosis Group

14-3-3 regulates the mitochondrial respiratory reserve linked to platelet phosphatidylserine exposure and procoagulant function

Dr Carmine Gentile, Free Radical Group

Cardiac spheroids as novel 3d in vitro models to study human heart biology and pharmacology

Student Oral Finalists

Ms Dhanya Ravindran, Immunobiology Group

The rate of atherosclerosis development determines changes in plaque volume and composiion following gene transfer of the borad spectrum chemokine binding protein 'M3'

Mr Pradeep Manuneedhi Cholan, Vascular Complications Group

Vascular TRAIL expression is increased in endothelial cells by angioensin II.

YI/ECR Moderated Poster Finalists

Ms Sophie Maiocchi,Thrombosis Group

A novel visualisation technique to investigate thrombo-inflammation during intestinal ischemia reperfusion

Oral Presentations

Dr Bronwyn Brown, Inflammation Group

Low-density lipoproteins modified by myeloperoxidase-macrophage phenotype and function

Dr Mike Wu, Thrombosis Group

Identification of a novel neutrophil-dependent thrombotic mechanism in the lung

Dr Anisyah Ridiandries, Immunobiology Group

Broad spectrum CC-chemokine inhibition improves wound healing and wound angiogenesis

Dr Joanne Tan, Immunobiology Group

microRNA-181C and its putative target TRIM2 mediate the ability of high density lipoproteins to rescue diabetes-impaired angiogenesis

Poster Presentations

Ms Seren Ucak, High Blood Pressure Group

Power specctrum analysis as a measure of vascular rectivity: exploring neural control of cardiovascular function

Mr Pradeep Manuneedhi Cholan, Vascular Complications Group

TRAIL suppresses superoxide producation in diseases vessels and enhances antioxidant expression in endotherial cells

Dr Siân Cartland, Vascular Complications Group

TRAIL modulates monocyte/macrophage phenotype to exacerbate atherosclerosis

Mr Scott Genner, Vascular Complications Group

TRAIL protects against fatty liver in vivo and in vitro

Investigating the role of TRAIL in promoting an angiogenic response

Mr Imala Alwis, Thrombosis Group

Investigating the biochemical and biophysical mechanisms that influence excessive leukocyte recruitment on platelet thrombi following ischemia–reperfusion injury

Dr Monica (Yuen Ting) Lam, Translational Research and Bioengineering Group

Genomic action of androge receptor modulates androgen augmentation of ischaemia-induced neovascularisaion


Related news

HRI awarded at Joint Annual Scientific Meeting of AAS/AVBS/HBPRCA

Congratulations to Dhanya Ravindran and Dr Lining (Arnold) Ju, who both took home awards from the 2018 Joint Annual Scientific Meeting of the Australian Atherosclerosis Society (AAS), Australian Vascular Biology Society (AVBS) and High Blood Pressure Research Council of Australia (HBPRCA), held in Glenelg, Adelaide, 27–30 November.

Read more

2018 Sydney Cardiovascular Symposium

The Heart Research Institute (HRI) and the Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute (VCCRI) formally partnered for the second time to host the 2018 Sydney Cardiovascular Symposium, 5–7 December at the Charles Perkins Centre, The University of Sydney.

Read more

HRI receives Ministerial Award for Cardiovascular Research Excellence

Congratulations to Professor Shaun Jackson, Director of Cardiovascular Research at the Heart Research Institute and Charles Perkins Centre, on receiving the 2018 Ministerial Award for Cardiovascular Research Excellence.
Read more