Research Group Leaders

We have 12 group leaders each researching a different aspect of heart disease.

Former research group leaders

Dr Christina Bursill

Dr Christina Bursill completed her PhD in lipid metabolism at the University of Adelaide before doing postdoctoral work at Oxford University at the Wellcome Trust Centre of Human Genetics. She returned to Australia in 2007 to take up a position at the HRI with Professors Kerry-Anne Rye and Philip Barter as part of the Lipid Research Group. In 2008, Dr Bursill was awarded a prestigious National Heart Foundation of Australia Career Development Fellowship. In 2010, she formed the Immunobiology Group at the HRI.

Professor Clare Hawkins

Clare Hawkins was the HRI Scientific Director, leader of the Inflammation Group, and a Principal Research Fellow and Associate Professor at the University of Sydney. She joined the Heart Research Institute in 1997 as a postdoctoral scientist in the Free Radical Group. Her research focused on understanding how chemical oxidants produced during chronic inflammation modulate cellular function, and the role of these reactions in the pathogenesis of atherosclerosis.

Dr David Pattison

David was Joint Group Leader of the Free Radical Group, a position shared with Professor Michael Davies. David uses an analytical chemical approach to gain detailed insight into the reactions of oxidants that are implicated in the development and progression of atherosclerosis and other inflammatory diseases.